A Toast to and with an Arnold Palmer

19 07 2013

IMG_6533I love iced tea and drink it throughout the year. I had never heard of the drink dubbed Arnold Palmer until my husband ordered it. It is equal parts iced tea and lemonade. I took years to warm up to it and pollute my iced tea with lemonade. I learned to make one for Kevin for a post-work treat after his long, hot commute. Sometimes I’d steal a sip and then eventually pour a bit for myself. I realized that an Arnold Palmer makes a refreshing summer drink. I’m still not a purist. I make mine with more iced tea than lemonade and add sweetener. After stirring, it’s still a beautiful drink but loses its famous layered presentation that resembles a sunset.

The Arnold Palmer drink originated from the legendary American golfer himself, who enjoyed this particular beverage at home. Around 1960, Mr. Palmer custom ordered his favorite drink at a country club. A nearby patron overheard him and also asked for one calling it “that Palmer drink.” It caught on and quickly became known as “a Palmer.” The Arnold Palmer is referred to as “Half & Half” in the South if you order one there.

Arnold Palmer Drink Recipe

  • Fill a clear glass, any size, halfway with ice cubes
  • Fill the glass halfway with lemonade (store-bought or homemade)
  • Slowly fill the top half with unsweetened iced tea so that both layers are visible
  • Garnish with a lemon wedge, a mint sprig, or a cocktail umbrella

 

All rights reserved. No portion of Seasonal Northwest, including any text, photographs, and artwork, may be copied or reproduced without written permission.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

